Break it to me gently. Is it shot?

northstar11

Active LVC Member
Reaction score
I got this bad feeling.
It's a 2000 V8 with 103,00 miles on it. Love the car. The only problem(besides the sway bar bushings:shifty: ) is the sub-par tranny. It ratles realy bad. It acually sounds more like a diesle. My question, is that just an anoying sound I gota put up with, or will the tranny soon be shot completely. Gear shifts seam to be ok (not like new) except when going from 2nd-3rd in SST. Also, does that got a tranny rebuilt know what I can expect to pay if I go that route.

Thanks in advance for the help, you guys know everything I think

I'm not a mechanic.... But if something "rattles", I don't think that's a good thing.:rolleyes:

Sorry I can't help.

2-3 shift was always harsh in my LS. A lot of other 00-02 owners say that too.

could it be a catalytic converter? that used to happen to my old 95 Cougar.

2-3 is a hard shift when you get on it, at least in my 01. I have a feeling it isn't your tranny, take it somewhere.

2-3 is a hard shift when you get on it, at least in my 01. I have a feeling it isn't your tranny, take it somewhere.

Yea, I had my mechanic listen to it, he wasnt really shure, but thot it was tranny to. When I first start it, and tha car is cold, I dont hear the noise. But after a couple minutes, it starts to rattle, and its perdy loud. It deffinantly gets worse when I put it into gear.

I bet DarkMan is right, it is either a loose cat shield or a loose bolt on the exhaust. Had issue on my 85 T-Bird, 94 E-150 , 2004 F-150 and 2000 Mustang. All had rusted speed nuts and the bolts were just floppin around in the hole (all were on the cat shields). I had to cut them off witha dremel and put on stainless automotive grade 8 bolts (I am anal- sorry) and lock nuts to keep this from happing again.