COP's and Coils or Tranny issues???

chausse420

Active LVC Member
Reaction score
I have been trying to figure out through HOURS of research on here and read many people opinions on this topic and do not want to spend the money (because I am a full time student, $ is tight) if I don't have the problem truly pinpointed. I get a jerking (not always) from 4-5 shift. It doesn't jerk if I use manual shift and shift it at higher RPM's, and even if I don't sometimes it doesn't jerk. I have read up on symptoms on the solenoid packs and valve body springs giving out, and have seen a video on how to rebuild the solenoids as well but still am not sure. Some people are very convinced it is the COP's and/or coils and others are saying its the solenoid pack and/or valve body due to shift springs giving out. If anybody can throw me some info on this and how to pin point that would be great. It has not thrown any codes either and its been doing it since 10/13/2012. Its a 2001 Lincoln LS V8, with 89,xxx miles on it. One owner, old couple with up to current mileage maintenance records when I bought it, so i know it wasn't mistreated. And in addition, the tranny fluid and filter was swapped at the dealership at about 70k miles. Sorry for the long post and thanks so much in advance for any info, I very much appreciate it!!!

A marginal failing coil won't give you a CEL but if you get your reader ready and really beat on it, you may be able to get a flashing CEL for about a minute or so, read that quickly and if you get anything PO3XXX related you'll know which coil to swap out.

Trouble is, if you don't swap all the COP's out while your at it, the others are going to fail shortly there after. These guys know this from experience and they are right.

Fix that first and you may very well find there is nothing going on with the tranny after all.