Need some suggestions...

PrOjEcT_LS2000

LVC Member
Reaction score
Hey guys im new to this cite and own a 2000 Lincoln LS. Wanting to get it to tip top shape. I had some questions on oil and fluid for the LS. I have very high mileage (180,000). My question is if there is a recommended brand of oil to use, because i wanted to go with royal purple. Same goes with transmission fluid. Recently bought it from a friend, didnt know when last fluid changes were made. Also my transmission light came on so i figured the fluid is low. Any suggestions?

For oil I stick with the Motorcraft Synthetic Blend 5w20. The only time I'll run a full synthetic in a vehicle is if I own it from new in attempt to get the most out of the car. I would run the same if i didn't know what it had before. I've read elsewhere that taking a car that ran on anything less than full synthetic then switching to something like Royal Purple, Mobil 1, Ams-Oil, whatever it may be may cause problems but I'm not too certain on that part.

I plan on getting my solenoid packs changed and tranny flushed probably within the next month. I'm a believer in keeping up with a maintenance schedule and if it is done every 30k miles your car is due for one. Other people believe that if you wait too long to change the fluid it will get used to the old stuff, swap it with new, and a whole mess of problems comes up.

Are there symptoms with the trans light?