painting my own bumper...progress pics

myfirstlincoln

Dedicated LVC Member
Reaction score
I'm a teacher and school is out for the year so I have some free time and I decided to tackle my front bumper today. It is a complete mess from paint chips (driving to work on the highway) over the last 2 years. I'm trying it myself using some paintscratch stuff. I'm using their flexible primer, got a couple cans of custom match paint and also a couple cans of catalyzed clear coat (extra hard). Obviously I have a long way to go but I am pretty happy with how its turned out thus far...This is where I'm at after about six hours of filling, sanding, priming.

uglybumper1.jpg

uglybumper2.jpg

prettybumper1.jpg

prettybumper2.jpg

prettybumper3.jpg

prettybumper4.jpg

Wow, will be interesting to see how this turns out! You are going to have to buff the hell out of that with rubbing compound and a polish to get it to shine!

Props for doing it yourself!

I am lookin' forward to more pics.

how much is it to paint the bumper? 200-300 bucks?

you got more guts then me to try and paint your car

Every shop I went to wanted over $1000 to fix the bumper and paint it. In fact, a few places told me they wouldn't even waste their time filling and sanding and I should just buy a new bumper. The supplies cost me about $100 total so I figured I might as well give it a shot. If it looks like crap I'll take it to a shop. I am pretty darn picky but I do have time and this is a learning experience. My dad has also worked in the paint industry for over 30 years painting all kinds of stuff so I'm not going in completely blind.

Dang, $1000??? What if you brought it to them with the paint already stripped?

Also I am surprised you are doing this with the bumper still attached, it is easily removed in case you were afraid of it being hard.