Question for those of you that have experience with 15 inch subs...

scjmc

Dedicated LVC Member
Reaction score
I recently installed a single kicker CVR 15" dual 2 ohm VC sub into my car. I did this to regain some trunk space that the 2 12" Kenwood subs were taking up. Despite pushing twice the power to that sub I am very unimpressed. I have only ever used 12s and 10s. Someone please tell me if this is how 15s react. At certian HZ levels say 30-50 the sub pounds. At any other level it sucks. It also puts out very little bass in the lower volume levels where the 12s would still react. Sounds like I have the factory subs only. The speaker is rated for 25-250HZ, but it REALLY favors a small frequency range. Songs that have good bass, but not very deep bass sound like I have factory subs only. I have installed many systems and I know what I am doing though I am no professional. I use high quality wiring (2GA), 1.5 Farad cap, correct box volume, etc. I have the impedance correct, and the polarity of the voice coils. What it all boils down to is the 12 inch subs I have used in the past put out good bass in whatever range or volume I set the crossover to. The 15 only puts out bass (and ots of it) in a very specific range. I have swapped the 12s back in and I get good bass range again. I even put the 15 in my wife's Altima (thank God she likes driving it) and I get the same wierd specific bass issues. I want to know is it the kicker sub that is like this, or do the larger subs react this differantly? Sorry for the long post...

Do you have a bass boost knob? I didn't plug mine in when I first hooked mine up and there was like nothing (stock stuff).. But when I pluged it in and turned it up it popped out one of my tails.. :lol:

It was missing the little nuts and I replaced.. :)

Finally! A question i know alot about:dancefool {<-- Kinda gay i kno}
Any way..