Tips for driving the LS in snowy conditions?

captainalias

Dedicated LVC Member
Reaction score
This is my first time driving a RWD vehicle, and we just had a couple inches of sleet and snow last night. Do you guys have any suggestions for driving the car in snowy conditions? How well does the traction control work?

I live in WI and we got about 5-6 inches last night...You have to be easy on the gas when starting out to get good traction and try not to give it too much throttle when going around even the slitest of corners...I rotated my best tires to the rear and I am going to be putting a few sandbags in my trunk today so I will have a little more traction next time.

get a set of snow tires. seriously. it'll cost you 600 or so depending on the size and where you get them but it makes an absolutely HHUUUUGGGEEE difference in the winter. Depending on what your insurance deductible is they may pay for themselves:):)

and 2nd or 3rd gear sst starts make it easier to drive to as you don't have to feather the throttle as much

if your tail starts sliding out from under you dont over correct it. let off the gas and turn the wheel straight, dont panic

Thanks guys. Just to confirm, the little traction control button- traction control is always on, unless I hit the button to turn it off? There's a button next to the cup holders that says 'OFF- traction control', so I assume it means that if you hit the button, the TC can be manually turned off?

The manual isn't very clear on that. Anyone have the advanced trac system? how well does that work?

itsnotmydaddys said:
if your tail starts sliding out from under you dont over correct it. let off the gas and turn the wheel straight, dont panic

So if I fishtail, take my foot off the gas, and if the ABS comes on, keep my foot on the brakes, and steer in the direction I want to go in?

you can apply the brakes too if you can. really if you are worried about it get snow tires.