How do you drive SST mode?

amorgan2017

Active LVC Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I was curious to know how you drive SST mode. I'm pretty new to the car and have tried it a few times but I don't see the fun. I've never tried putting it to the floor and shifting through the gears because I read it's not easy to do or something. I also read people are spinning their tires through shifting the gears?? Anyway I'd like to mess around with it so any help is appreciated.

Thanks, Alex

I mostly use it for engine breaking or to hold a gear through a turn, however in a straight line race, I always use auto mode.

as far as spinning tires during gear changes, those people need to either get better tires or stop driving in the rain or snow so hard...

Ok, same here. I've never tried anything but auto in the quarter. Doesn't feel right flooring it in sst. I just thought I was missing some tricks or something lol.

Doesn't feel right flooring it in sst.

not really sure what this is supposed to mean, it feels exactly the same as it does in auto mode, it just increases the chance of messing up a shift due to human error...

a hair before the rev limiter kicks in at redline.

every time...

I use(d) it in mountainous or twisty driving.

I drive 80% of the time on sst now. I find it easier to down shift while going 50% throttle vs having to go 80% throttle for it to down shift and pull much harder than I need it or want it to.

Sent from my XT1030 using Tapatalk

I played around with it today. Never floored it and shifted around 2500 every time which seemed alright. Down shifting is weird. Seems to be limited to 3K. I thought that was just a rev limiter and once you get going its gone..

Down shifting is weird. Seems to be limited to 3K. I thought that was just a rev limiter and once you get going its gone..

mine has no problem down shifting and it being higher than 3k RPM, as long as the post shift RMP is lower than redline, it will down shift.